A message from the President

A special welcome to our Annual Dinner and Awards Night. Thank you for the tremendous turnout and Congratulations to Amy, Fran, Rocky and Steve Goodfellow for putting this show on the road.Willie Welch

This has been a very special year for Burton Hockey Club …. We said it could be done and now our very own “Ellis Astro” is up and running with a full programme of Home fixtures each weekend together with Club Training and full Academy activity during the week. A great team effort over FIVE years since the Ellis Legacy was received. Our army of supporters and benefactors are too many to name in person but I must highlight the outstanding and patient contributions from Astro Campaign Chairman Steve Morrison, Club Chairman Ian Brown, Glyn Holland and our very own, industrious Treasurer, Rocky Whetton.

We are now Burton Hockey Club Limited with the “Ellis Astro” as a major asset on the Club’s balance sheet; WE MUST NOW LOOK AFTER IT…

Our mission following The London Olympics “To Inspire a Generation” is the on -going task; to keep the current momentum of encouraging young Boys and Girls to participate in “Sport” particularly “Hockey” through our Academy and within the local schools and Colleges.

The benefits for our young people; apart from healthy physical exercise are the learning of key Life Skills. Respect, Discipline, Teamwork, Sportsmanship, Initiative and perhaps most important the opportunity to form “Friendships” and have fun – it is great to “Win” but taking part is the most important!

For the “Mission” to succeed we need “Volunteers” in every area of the Club! ….. PLEASE jump in and contribute wherever you are able. Thanks to Graham Lamb for his great work getting Press Reports into the Burton Mail and to Kev Heath, Jamie Cooper, Zoe Ridley and her academy team for their superb contribution to coaching. Not to forget Nick Goode and his always willing Team of conscientious Umpires … Thank You.

Enjoy your evening, Strength to your Elbows, Onward and Upwards.

Willie Welch, President


13055847 10156812733250652 8118470000735911640 o

Congratulation to all this years Winners 

Mens 6th XI Top Goal Scorer Steve Morrison
Mens 5th XI Top Goal Scorer Antony Kemp
Ladies 4th XI Top Goal Scorer Hope Whyman
Mens 4th XI Top Goal Scorer Andrew Woolley
Ladies 3rd XI Top Goal Scorer Maddie Higgins
Mens 3rd XI Top Goal Scorer Jacob Kemp
Ladies 2nd XI Top Goal Scorer Claire Brittian
Mens 2nd XI Top Goal Scorer Ben Elson 
Ladies 1st XI Top Goal Scorer Amy Palmer & Rhian Warriner
Mens 1st XI Top Goal Scorer Mark Northcott
Top Goalscorer Ben Elson
Chris Tyler Goalkeeper of the Year  Erin Franklin
Heather Russell Young Umpire of the Year Megan Ridley
Mike Scott Umpire of the Year Scott Woolley
Mike Williamson Club Official of the Year       Steve Goodfellow
Ian Brown 6th XI Player of the Year Mike Hunot
Peter Bradfield 5th XI Player of the Year Thomas Shenton
Glyn Holland Ladies 4th Team Player of the Year Rebecca Thandi
Martin Stakes 4th XI Player of the Year Andrew Woolley
Steve Morrison Ladies 3rd XI Player of the Year Michaela Shaw
Graham Lamb 3rd XI Player of the Year James Bielby
Trevor Windle Ladies 2nd XI Player of the Year Chloe Logan
Andy Bendall 2nd XI Player of the Year Simon White
Toyota Trophy Ladies 1st XI Player of the Year Fran Lord
Mike Cockburn 1st XI Player of the Year Paul Cleaver
The Keith & Jane Palmers Most Improved Player of the Year Chloe Logan
Mike Brooker Most Improved Player of the Year Robbie Cooper
Bob Anderson Junior Colt of the Year                 Lucy Pendleton
Thomas Shenton
Peter Ellis Colt of the Year                     Alex Dolman
Owen Harrison
Ian Whetton Ladies Veteran of the Year      Jane Palmer
Ian Morgan Men’s Veteran of the Year      Kev Stanyon
 The Stanyon Sheild Outstanding Academy Contribution Louise Bignell
Team of the Year Mens 4th Team
Willie Welch Clubman of the Year  Ian Whetton